CODAawards Announces Distinguished Jury of Design + Art Leaders

MADISON, WI, April 2, 2019 – CODAworx, the hub of the commissioned art economy, has announced 17 distinguished jurors for the seventh annual CODAawards. These thought leaders in design and art will review and select projects in ten design categories, shining a spotlight on successful collaborations between artists, design professionals, and other members of the project team.

The CODAawards celebrate projects that demonstrate the most successful integration of commissioned art into interior, architectural, and public spaces. And, for the seventh year in a row, CODAworx partners with Interior Design magazine for this awards program that has become international in scope and scale. Last year’s awards drew 425 submissions from 30 countries, representing over $99 million USD in commissions.

“The jury for the CODAawards is composed of some of the most influential figures in the design and art worlds,” states Toni Sikes, CEO of CODAworx, “They represent a variety of disciplines, providing us with insight and experience in scoring diverse projects from around the world.”


The jurors are:

  • Cindy Allen, Editor-in-Chief, Interior Design (New York)

  • Alexandra Champalimaud, Founder, Champalimaud (New York)

  • Andrée Bober, Founding Director, Landmarks (Austin)

  • Christopher J. Gribbs, Managing Director, Conference Strategy and Operations, AIA (Washington, DC)

  • Anna Rothfuss, Project Development Manager, Derix US (Portland) and Frederik Richter, Executive Director, Derix Glasstudios (Germany)

  • Dr. Carol Bentel FAIA, IIDA, ASID, LEED AP, Partner, Bentel & Bentel Architects, Chair, SVA BFA Interior Design Department (Locust Valley, NY)

  • Elizabeth Devereaux, Owner, Devereaux Architectural Glass, 2018 CODAawards Winner (Chico, CA)

  • Jeremy Crandell, Co-lead, Central Arts Team, Burning Man (San Francisco)

  • JoAnn Edwards, Executive Director, San Francisco Museum of Craft and Design (San Francisco)

  • John Edelman, CEO, Design Within Reach (Stamford, CT)

  • Luis Juan López Barreiro, CEO, Iluminet (México)

  • Mark Zeff, President, MARKZEFF Design (Brooklyn)

  • Erla Dögg Ingjaldsdóttir, Principal Designer and Tryggvi Thorsteinsson, Principal Designer, Minarc (Santa Monica)

  • Ajax Law, Partner and Virginia Lung, Partner, One Plus Partnership (Hong Kong)

  • Susan R. Ewing, Director, Cranbrook Academy of Art (Bloomfield Hills, MI)

  • Satoshi Nakagawa, Designer, Artist, Gallery Owner (NYC), Professor of Design and Sensing Technology (Tokyo)

  • Ilene Shaw, CEO, Shaw and Co! Productions (New York)


The CODAawards are open to all involved in the process of creating spaces: artists, designers, architects, public art administrators, art consultants, and industry resources.
Entries are open until May 31, 2019; visit


About CODAworx.

CODAworx is the hub of the commissioned art economy. We connect all members of the industry, matching creative talent with creative opportunities, and providing digital tools that streamline the commission workflow process.